關於我們 設施服務 樣品/數據 教育訓練 中心成員 中心訊息 研究成果 相關連結 English
 關於我們

宗旨
  中央研究院冷凍電子顯微鏡中心(簡稱中研院冷凍電顯中心Academia Sinica Cryo-Electron Microscopy Center, ASCEM)的設置主要目標在透過尖端設備的引進,提升臺灣與中研院生命科學基礎研究的能量,協助蛋白質結構解析與細胞內的超微結構(ultrastructure)研究,進而解決重要生技議題及重大疾病問題。
 
簡介
  本中心總共配備四台儀器,包括兩台院內既有之(較)基本型冷凍電顯設施-化學所Jeol JEM-1400(CEM1)、細生所Tecnai G2 F20 TWIN (CEM2)及新購入之兩台(較)高階儀器-Talos Arctica(CEM3)、Titan Krios(CEM4)。為使本院之冷凍電顯設施達到最佳效益,四台設備各有任務,提供初階至高階有系統地儀器應用。CEM1/2在8小時/5天的運作基準下,優先服務院內使用者。CEM3/4則以24小時/7天半自動化模式全天候對外開放。

CEM1主要用於訓練新的冷凍電顯使用者及初步篩檢整個低溫電顯作業流程的樣本之品質(如蛋白質負染)。

CEM2用於冷凍電顯(或低溫斷層攝影)之初階研究,以檢視樣本狀況及製作低解析結構模型,也可應用在其他方面,例如脂質(liposome)。

CEM3備有Falcon III影像感測器及Volta相位板,為多用途儀器,適用於中、高階研究,包括低溫斷層攝影、支援CEM2篩選初階研究樣本、支援CEM4拍攝圖像、收集高品質結構資料及學術論文發表。

CEM4同時備有Falcon III、K2影像感測器及Volta相位板,專門用在高解析結構研究。樣本的品質與可行性需先通過CEM1、CEM2及CEM3初階檢測,也必須具有生物學上的重要意義,並能提供相關實作研究(functional studies)以便中心審核使用CEM4的必要性與優先性。

中心並會舉辦年度工作坊,不定期也會開設訓練課程,使用者必須通過嚴格的訓練與測試才能自行操作儀器。中心也與中研院網格與科學計算專題中心(ASGC)合作,使大量的資料分析工作與流程達到最佳效果,網格中心並支援原始及分析資料之備份。
 
沿革
  第一階段:從無到有之草創期(2017.03-2019.06)

本中心於2017年開始籌備,2018年初成立,並於同年9月正式啟用。建置初期,因不易直接從國外聘請專業人才,本中心決定從國內對此領域具興趣者進行栽培,藉由請益國外專家學者及派員出國學習來建立本中心的CryoEM單粒子分析(SPA)服務團隊。

於此階段,院內有七位結構生物學背景的研究員義不容辭地投入,包括生化所蔡明道博士/徐尚德博士/何孟樵博士/吳昆峯博士、化學所章為皓博士、細生所傅琪鈺博士、基因體中心林世昌博士。不但主動提供自身研究課題作為儀器測試的樣本,並於每週一次內部管理檢討會議,共同討論,在兼顧尖端科技本身的高門檻和高成本設施建構與營運的前提下,提供使用者一套友善且可負擔的技術支援,以嶄新的“研究型服務”模式與完整的配套措施來滿足各方研究需求,有效率地使用新添購的CEM3/4,大幅地減低上機等待時間。而配套措施包含高效能資料傳輸系統的建置、與本院網格中心資料運算系統的串連、及專業人員的培訓等面向,以及臺灣蛋白質計畫之協助推動。也由於中央研究院及臺灣蛋白質計畫的經費支持,中心使用者基本上只需負責樣品前處理及資料分析,上機等待期為兩週之內,遠優於國際上的同等單位,然而收費僅約國際費用之 1/5~1/10。

為推廣冷凍電顯技術之各項應用、促進跨領域之合作,中心自2017年3月起即每兩週舉辦一次專題演講(或使用者會議),由生化所劉淦光博士協助規劃,旨在提供使用者間相互切磋交流之機會及與本中心溝通之管道,以便中心改善未盡之處;中心也不定期開設研習或訓練課程,希望促進計畫的合作與開展,有效利用四台冷凍電顯設備。

由於院方高度關注冷凍電顯中心的設立,在中心正式對外啟用約半年後,由周美吟副院長主導,本中心接受位三國外及一位國內冷凍電顯專家的評鑑,並於2019年6月6日向廖俊智院長、周美吟副院長、劉扶東副院長、學諮會、學儀處、和另三位外審委員進行口頭報告與接受評鑑。此次評鑑結果,無論是國外專家、外審委員或是院本部長官皆對本中心能在短短一年之內即開始運作並有研究成果產出給予大力肯定。而隨著評鑑的通過,也意味著冷凍電顯中心草創期的結束及新階段的開始。

第二階段:力求成長之開拓期(2019.06-迄今)

完成第一次評鑑後,中心依評鑑結果與院方指示,設定第二階段的三個目標為穩定運作、解決重要科學問題、與發展冷凍電子斷層攝影(Electron Cryo-Tomography, ECT)技術,以因應生命科學研究之發展趨勢及服務需求,橋接臺灣結構生物學與細胞生物學之研究,擴大中心之使用族群,增加儀器效益。我們也適度調整人事和營運模式、專題演講或使用者會議則改為每月舉行一次、內部管理檢討會議改為兩週一次。惟目前中心較缺乏生物學家背景的ECT專家,亟需有志同仁投入行列。
 
著作聲明
  Users should acknowledge support provided by center in any resulting publications as: Academia Sinica Cryo-EM Center (Grant No. AS-CFII-108-110) and Taiwan Protein Project (Grant No. AS-KPQ-109-TPP2 and/or AS-KPQ-105-TPP).

Please also include ASGC (Academia Sinica Grid-computing Center) in the acknowledgement when research outcomes that relied on ASGC resources, services or expertise are presented. For example, “This work used ASGC (Academia Sinica Grid-computing Center) Distributed Cloud resources, which is supported by Academia Sinica”. Or, simply include “ASGC (Academia Sinica Grid-computing Center)” in the list of institutes to be acknowledged.
 
ASCEM Banner 圖   png檔   pdf檔
 

聯繫窗口:林欣樺小姐, 中央研究院冷凍電顯中心   Email:cryoem@gate.sinica.edu.tw

臺北市南港區115研究院路二段128號 電話:(02) 27855696 分機3020

(實驗室)臺北市南港區115研究院路二段70巷28號 跨領域科技研究大樓B2-I04

Copyright © 2018.01 Academia Sinica Cryo-EM Center (ASCEM). All rights reserved.

About Access CryoSample/Data Training People Announcement Research Links Chinese
 About

Goals
  The overall goal of establishing Academia Sinica Cryo-EM Center (ASCEM) is to increase the energy of fundamental life science research of Taiwan and Academia Sinica via introduction of cutting-edge instruments and to assist analyzing protein structure and cellular ultrastructure for further solutions of bio-technology issues and serious disease problems.
 
Facilities
  ASCEM hosts four instruments, including two newly purchased high-resolution cryo-EM instruments (FEI Titan Krios 300 keV and FEI Talos Arctica 200 keV) and two existing low-end cryo-EM instruments that are previously supported by Academia Sinica: FEI Tecnai G2 F20 (200 keV) in the Institute of Cellular and Organismic Biology and JEOL JEM-1400 (120 keV) in the Institute of Chemistry. The two high-resolution cryo-EM (CEM3/4) run on 24hrs/7days base and are open to other users outside of Academia Sinica while the other two lower-resolution instruments work on 8 hrs/5days base and are mainly open for users within Academia Sinica.

CEM1 is mainly for training cryo-EM beginners and negative staining, the first step of checking the quality of protein or particle samples in the total cryo-EM workflow.

CEM2 is for preliminary study of cryo-EM, to check sample conditions and to obtain a low-resolution structural model. It could also be used for cryo-tomography (CTM) and other applications such as liposome.

CEM3, equipped with Falcon detector and Volta phase plates, is for multi-purpose and include the following tasks: (i) tomography; (ii) overflow of the preliminary study samples from CEM2; (iii) screening of grids for CEM4; and (iv) collection of high quality data for structural determination (up to 4 angstrom or a little better) and publication.

CEM4, equipped with both Falcon and K2 detectors and Volta phase plates, is particularly for the studies of high-resolution structures. Preliminary data from CEM1, CEM2 and CEM3 are required to demonstrate the feasibility and quality of the sample. Biological significance and associated functional studies should also be provided to justify the need or the priority to use CEM4.

Users must pass stringent training and tests before he or she is allowed to operate an instrument independently. Accordingly, ASCEM will hold workshop annually and provide training courses non-periodically. Moreover, ASCEM collaborates with Academia Sinica Grid Computing Centre (ASGC) to provide optimized data handling, big data analysis and efficient computing over the distributed infrastructure in Academia Sinica for users. ASGC also serves as a hot backup site for all cryo-EM raw data and calculation results via a dedicated campus network connection.
 
History
  Phase I: Starting Up (2017.03 - 2019.06)

The planning and organization of ASCEM started in 2017. It was established in the early 2018 and was officially open to public in September of the same year. After unsuccessful attempts in recruiting cryo-EM experts from abroad, ASCEM decided to form its own Cryo-EM Single Particle Analysis (SPA) Service Team by training domestic professionals.

At this stage, seven Academia Sinica research fellows with structural biology background devoted themselves to ASCEM establishment, including Dr. Ming-Daw Tsai, Dr. Shang-Te Danny Hsu, Dr. Meng-Chaio Joseph Ho, and Dr. Kuen-Phon Wu from IBC, Dr. Wei-Hau Chang from IoC, Dr. Chi-Yu Fu from ICOB, and Dr. Su-Chang Tom Lin from GRC. The team members met weekly to establish operation and service workflow and to examine the effectiveness and performance of the center. As a result, a financially affordable and user-friendly, research orientated “one-stop” service was gradually shaped up, and the unique service allows the newly bought instruments, CEM3/4, to be used efficiently and to largely reduce the waiting time on the machine. The key components for the operation include a high performance data transfer system, a connection with ASGC resources for data analysis, well-trained facility managers and staffs, and a generous support from Taiwan Protein Project (TPP). Due to the funding support from Academia Sinica and TPP, ASCEM users currently only need to take care of sample preparation and data analysis, and the waiting time for the instruments is within 2 weeks in average, which is far superior to international cryo-EM centers. Moreover, the charge is only about 1/5~1/10 of abroad.

In addition to the weekly management meeting, there was a biweekly Interest Group Meeting (or User Meeting) since March 2017, organized by Dr. Gan-Guang Liou from IBC. This Meeting was aimed to create an interaction opportunity for cryo-EM users. Issues related to ASCEM policy and instruments were also open for discussion here. Non-periodical training workshop or courses were also provided for encouraging projects collaboration.

Because Academia Sinica has been highly concerned with the success of ASCEM, an evaluation was arranged about a half year after the official opening of ASCEM. The evaluation team, led by AS Vice President, Dr. Mei-Yin Chou, was formed by 3 foreign and 1 domestic cryo-EM experts. On June 6, 2019, the review was presented to AS President James C. Liao, VP Mei-Yin Chou, VP Fu-Tong Liou, Central Academic Advisory Committee, and Instrument Service Division. Overall, ASCEM obtained very positive feedback from all reviewers. They were especially impressed by that ASCEM could run with international competitiveness in such a short period, with high level publication already produced.

Phase II: Growing Up (2019.06 - today)

After the 1st evaluation, ASCEM set three goals for the 2nd phase based on the advices of reviewers and Academia Sinica leaders: to stabilize the center operation, to solve important scientific issues, and to develop Electron Cryo-EM Tomography (ECT). The establishment of ECT service is in response to a new trend and needs in life science research and for bridging structural biology into cell biology. It will also expand the users of ASCEM and increase the usage efficiency of instruments. In addition, we have adjusted the leadership team and the operation procedures slightly. The biweekly Interest Group Meeting (or User Meeting) is changed to monthly, and the weekly internal management meeting is changed to biweekly. Due to lack of ECT experts with background in biology, ASCEM hopes to see more colleagues with interest in ECT to work together with us.
 
Acknowledging ASECM in publications
  Users should acknowledge support provided by center in any resulting publications as: Academia Sinica Cryo-EM Center (Grant No. AS-CFII-108-110) and Taiwan Protein Project (Grant No. AS-KPQ-109-TPP2 and/or AS-KPQ-105-TPP).

Please also include ASGC (Academia Sinica Grid-computing Center) in the acknowledgement when research outcomes that relied on ASGC resources, services or expertise are presented. For example, “This work used ASGC (Academia Sinica Grid-computing Center) Distributed Cloud resources, which is supported by Academia Sinica”. Or, simply include “ASGC (Academia Sinica Grid-computing Center)” in the list of institutes to be acknowledged.
 
ASCEM Banner image   .png   .pdf
 

Contact: Ms. Hsin-Hua Lin, Academia Sinica CryoEM Center   Email:cryoem@gate.sinica.edu.tw

No. 128, Sect. 2, Academia Rd., Nankang, Taipei 115, Taiwan (R.O.C.)      TEL:(02) 27855696 #3020

(Lab) B2-I04 (Interdisciplinary Sci. & Tech. Building), No. 28, Ln. 70, Sec. 2, Academia Rd., Nankang, Taipei 115, Taiwan (R.O.C.)

Copyright © 2018.01 Academia Sinica Cryo-EM Center (ASCEM). All rights reserved.